Winter Soldier

Dr. Z
While in Boston, I holed up in my room for the three days to grade.  During that time, one of the channels was showing a Marvel movie every night–Captain America, The Avengers.

On the flight, I watched Winter Soldier without interruption.  I had seen bits and pieces but never the film from beginning to end.  I am not sure if I liked it or not.  The visuals stunning.  Black Widow–I am in love.  But the movie itself–I really do not know.

There was something disturbing lurking under the comic book exterior.  And I can not quite pinpoint it.  Perhaps it is Bucky–who seems a shadow of the Winter Soldiers I see lurking around all of the corners at work.

Robert
I liked Winter Soldier.

It’s reminiscent of the Captain America stories of the 70s coming out post Watergate and late Viet Nam War which is similar to the current years where the American people distrust their government.

There are a lot of qualities of the various Nick Fury SHIELD deconstructions.

This is the first film where I even begin to like ScarJo as Black Widow. She actually has some personality. In The Avengers, it felt like she was there because of the way she filled out a catsuit. Seriously! Her ass was in shots in scenes in Avengers she didn’t appear in. In Winter Soldier, she has purpose. She does the things that Captain America won’t do. She’s almost the anti-Cap. One interesting point: Black Widow was born in 1984 but she was in the KGB, which broke up in 1991 in our world. Also, ScarJo is more Scandinavian than Slavic. It’s a thing but not a deal breaker.

Winter Soldier makes for an interesting link to the 40s as does Arnim Zola. The downside to introducing Winter Soldier now is that there isn’t much time for him to grow before Cap 3: Civil War.

I love the execution on Falcon. I wish they’d gotten a few elements from his red and white costume but sort of understand why they didn’t.

Did you read Nick Fury’s tombstone? The scripture?

It’s a film with layers for sure.

David
I have begun brushing up.

Leave a Reply

